Lewisham Overpass

The Brown Street Bridge is an overpass which crosses Parramatta Road at Lewisham. It’s a thin strip of road that looks as if some giant hand has picked up a suburban street and moved it, Minecraft-like, to connect the back streets. The view from the bridge is such that you can see little on the horizon but trees and the large orange self storage place on the crest of nearby Taverner’s Hill. It feels enclosed, a pocket of space and time, alive with the endless motion of traffic and the light rail trains gliding past.

Lewisham OverpassAlthough there’s a pedestrian pathway alongside the overpass bridge few people walk here. It’s noisy and the cavern of Parramatta Road is choked with traffic underneath it. This section of Parramatta Road continues with the usual miscellaneous collection of businesses. At the top of the hill there’s the Lewisham Hotel, still called The Haunted Castle by some after its days as a heavy metal venue in the 1990s. It may no longer be the venue for Sadistik Execution gigs but it is still the only pub in Lewisham. In the late 19th century staunch temperance advocate George Crothers bought up every vacant corner block in Lewisham that he thought might be a likely pub location, leaving it with only the Lewisham Hotel compared to the dozens of pubs in surrounding suburbs.

7602071772_0cf72b71f8_z

George Crothers’ worst nightmare. Photo: Geoff Chaplin (Flickr)

The Lewisham Hotel still has a rather haunted atmosphere, with its grey facade and blinds drawn across the windows. Mostly this stretch of the road is an assortment of warehouses: mechanics’ workshops, a tile place, a stonemason with a concrete David by the entrance. To one side of the overpass there used to be a lot full of garden ornaments, the storage yard for a store called Architectural Decor. There were gazebos and birdbaths, planters and trellises. For a while there was a giant concrete chicken which I looked for every time I went past.

Lewisham Chicken

The chicken and the gazebos are gone now, replaced by piles of real estate signs, dozens of sold properties neatly stacked in tall piles. I walk down off the bridge and onto the path beside them. It’s Saturday morning and the road is choked with cars. Drivers sit grimacing or straining to look for any possible movement ahead. Others are slumped, resigned to the wait. All across town in the last few weeks have been ads picturing gridlock scenes just like this, with the warning that there will be 1 million more people in Sydney in 10 years. Between the stalled traffic and the piles of real estate signs, I walk the thin, concrete path like a tightrope.

Brown Street Overpass Path

The path curves around the back of the lot, following the bend of the road. Directly beside it is a patch of plants growing lushly after the recent rain: fennel, asparagus fern, athsma weed, grass weeds. Twisted into it is the usual roadside trash, packets and scraps of plastic and paper, and a twisted canvas banner advertising a banner printing service with a woman’s face with red lips and big sunglasses, dirty water pooled in its folds.

In this unlovely place, growing across the fence, are hundreds of pink roses. They drift across the wire panels, buds and blooms pale clusters against the green thicket. The roses nod on long stems as bees hover about them and their scent fades in and out over the smell of car exhaust. They bloom despite their rubbishy surroundings and their lack of a gardener’s attention. Their wildness makes them even more lovely.

Brown Street Roses

I duck under the railing, fighting the self consciousness of having a line of idling cars behind me. Carefully I step down through the weeds towards the roses. Thorns snag my sleeve as I reach in to pick one. A car horn honks and I turn around to catch the eye of a man in a ute, his eyebrows raised. He’s about to yell something but the traffic starts to move and he has to drive onwards.

The sign at the end of the bridge says all traffic must turn left but I can walk in any direction I choose with my bouquet of roses. I cross through the cars and head into the pocket of houses hemmed in by the roads, the canal and the railway line. At the edge of the grid of houses a billboard for Lynx deoderant is framed by the kudzu vines which cover the nearby fence and trees. BRING THE QUIET says the billboard, an alien message in this busy place, fooling no-one.

Bring the Quiet

Tomorrows Sydney

 

Roadside Roses

13 Comments on “Lewisham Overpass”

  1. Megan says:

    Thanks very much for another great post, Vanessa. It had never occurred to me to WALK across the Lewisham overpass. I thought you might like my post from a few years ago about Hawthorne Canal. Keep up the good walk.

    • Vanessa Berry says:

      Thanks Megan, and I found and enjoyed your post on the Hawthorne – I passed that very pavement pedestrian in your photo, I like how it seems to be rising up from the surface of the path these days!

  2. Nic says:

    Love your insights into these hidden bits of Sydney. Will have to check out those pink roses with my kids. Thanks Vanessa.

    • Vanessa Berry says:

      Thanks Nic, it was a surprise to encounter them. There’s a good patch of flame flowers nearby too (bright orange, flowering now).

  3. Marco Cuevas-Hewitt says:

    Lovely as always, Vanessa! Hope you didn’t get pricked by too many rose thorns. I have a fond memory of an old pub in that area called The Midnight Star Hotel, from a visit there back in 2002… Most amazing squat I’ve ever seen, but I don’t think it lasted for more than a few months. Look forward to exploring the streets of Sydney myself soon =)

    • Vanessa Berry says:

      I don’t mind a few thorns! Yes the Midnight Star is legendary – it didn’t last long but was extraordinary. It’s a bit further along Parramatta Road, in Homebush, all boarded up these days and destined for eventual demolition like a lot of Parramatta Road’s older buildings.

      • Marco Cuevas-Hewitt says:

        How awesome that you got to see it when it was in full swing too! I stayed there for 2 or 3 nights during the demonstrations against the WTO. That little community at Midnight Star made me feel like all things were possible. I miss the hope I had back then…

  4. amy.s says:

    I saw someone picking those roses yesterday! Had never noticed them before whilst driving. Am very tempted to go get some next time I drive past.

    It’s a strange old road complex around that bridge. Certainly looks nicer than it used to as I think they did all the footpaths up when the lightrail came in.

    Sadistik Execution, Bestial Warlust! ha I was far too young to actually go and see these bands at a pub back then.

    • Vanessa Berry says:

      I was old enough to see Bestial Warlust in the 90s but too scared!
      I passed the roses again this afternoon – there’s still lots of them blooming. I love that people are picking them, and that there’s so many of them, and they belong to everyone.

  5. Ash says:

    Greetings! I did a wander around that part of Lewisham a year ago for Instagram but never noticed the roses before. I drive past that way enough too. I am going to check out the roses and hopefully pick one too.

  6. sydneypk says:

    Enjoying your historical walkthroughs immensely. Is there any chance of adding maps for geographical reference?
    Pete


Leave a Reply

